Picture Gallery / Archive

NMA first board members

Sitting from left: Capt. Khalil Jafaar; Mr. Adebisi Akinfie (3rd from left), second DG of National Maritime Authority; General Mohammed Magoro (4th from left), first chairman of NMA Board; Standing: Mr. Sanusi (2nd from left) Head of Public Relations, Nigerian Shippers Council; Capt Jonah (3rd from left) ex NNSL staff; Capt. Abdulrahman Ahiwa Gombi (4th from left) Ex NNSL staff; Mrs. Chijioke (5th from left), NMA’s Head of Legal Department.

Capt Gombi

The late Capt. Abdulrahman Ahiwa Gombi, from Adamawa State, was reputed to be the first master mariner from Northern Nigeria.  He worked for the NNSL.

3man picture

Chief Louis P. Ojukwu (1st from left), father of the late Biafran leader, Lieutenant Colonel Emeka Odumegwu Ojukwu, was the chairman of the first board of the NNSL with Dr. Nnamdi Azikiwe (middle) and T. O. S. Benson (right).  (Source: West Africa, No. 1937, April 10, 1954, p. 315)

tankers in our time logo
Tankers in Our Time 2

A television argument for Nigerian shipping lines to lift crude oil, featuring interviews by Alhaji Iyanda Folawiyo, Alhaji Aliyu Mohammed, Capt. Francis Adegbotolu, Capt. Israel Haastrup, Capt. Cosmas Niagwan, Capt. Adamu Biu, Capt. S. O. Kadiri, Mr. Pier Luigi Carrodano, Mr. Musa Danjuma, Mr. E. A. Adeniyi, Mr. Eric Shawyer, JRC Hanman, Mr. Jon Wonham, and Capt John Philip. It contains videos of Nigerian seaports and inland waterways. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9MRt-EY09ZA

National Maritime Authority 10th Anniversary

A broadcast documentary detailing the 10th anniversary of the National Maritime Authority (NMA) with interviews from Capt K. O. Alaba, Capt S. A. Omoteso, Capt Emmanuel Ihenacho, Mr. Awwal Tukur of Daddo Maritime Services, Mv. Genesis Pioneer, Mv. Genesis Challenger, Mr. Wasagu of NMA, Mr. Ruma, Director of Administration, Mrs Chijioke, Head of Legal Services, Mrs. C. A. Aliyu of Hamstang Shipping Services, Engr. Charles Uwadia (Mv. Abbey Pride), Dr. Ekong, General Magoro, Engr. Buba Galadima, General I. D. Gumel, Alh. Munir Jaafaru, Bulkship Nigeria Ltd, Nigerian seaport with berthed ships, Mr. Musa Danjuma, pipelines for crude oil and refined products, etc. The NMA was succeeded by the Nigerian Maritime Administration and Safety Agency (NIMASA) in 2007 with an updated law, the Nigerian Merchant Shipping Act 2007.

NMA in The 21st Century

A video about the activities of the National Maritime Authority (NMA) in the 21st Century with interviews of Arch Ferdinand Agu (DG NMA), Chief Ojo Maduekwe (Transport Minister), Alhaji Lawal Kaita (NMA Chairman), Alhaji Isa Yuguda (Minister of State, Transport), Dr. Kema Chikwe (Ex- Transport Minister), Capt. Edward Agbakoba (Ex- NNSL IMO Rep), Mr. Adejare Shobayo (NMA), Chief Musa Danjuma (Comet Shipping Agencies Nig Ltd), Mr. Ikemefuna Azubuike (Max Maritime Shipping Agency), Dr. Bassey Ekong (Ex- DG of NMA), Prof. Ayodeji Olukoju (University of Lagos), Capt Adamu Biu (Bwangtang Shipping Line), Mr. Gerald Chidi (Ex-NNSL MD), Capt. Emmanuel Ihenacho (Genesis Worldwide Shipping Ltd), Commander Bako (NMA), Mr. Nseyeng Ebong (Rector, Maritime Academy of Nigeria), Mr. P. L. Carrodano (Comet Shipping Agencies Nigeria Ltd), Mr. Mark Walsh (Aeromaritime Group), Mr. Olu Sapara (Bulkship Nigeria Ltd) etc, on the various statutory mandates of the NMA in the new millennium.

nseyeng ebong man rector
Boarding for Time

A National Maritime Authority (NMA) television documentary about 30 nautical and marine engineering cadets of the Maritime Academy of Nigeria Oron (MAN) processed to gain 1-year sea time experience aboard some Malaysian oceangoing ships by the NMA. Interviews and loud audios included President Olusegun Obasanjo, Architect Ferdinand Agu (DG, NMA), Chief Ojo Maduekwe (Transport Minister), Dr. Abiye Sekibo (Minister of Transport), Mr. Nseyeng Ebong (Rector of Maritime Academy of Nigeria Oron), Capt Emmanuel Ihenacho (Genesis Worldwide Shipping), Capt S. A. Omoteso (East-West Coast Marine Services), Capt. Ime Ntiandem (Ex Rector MAN), Engr Owolabi (NNSL/NMA), Capt A. Olopenia (NNSL/NMA), Mr. Ibrahim Hamdallah (MISC), some cadets.

Black Star Line House in Tema Port

group pix

L-R: Dr. Edmund Chilaka, Prof. David Aworawo, Prof. Iyiola Oni, Capt. Emmanuel Ihenacho, ‘Capt.’ Pier Luigi Carrodano, Engr Greg Ogbeifun and Capt. Tajudeen Alao during the official launch of the book on NNSL and BSL, Apapa Lagos Nigeria, 17 June 2021

group pix

Guests at the book launch

group pix

group pix

Joined by Engr Wasa (1st right) and Engr Obadan (3rd from right)

group pix

Prof Oni (middle) flanked by Mr. Chidi Marc from Honda Motors (left) and Mr. Vincent Agwo from NIMASA (right)

group pix

Chidi Marc, Dr. Emmanuel Ege, Dr. Edmund Chilaka, Dr. Shakirudeen Odunuga and Mr. Vincent Agwo

group pix

Engr. Oliver Ogbuagu, Engr. Israel Obadan, Capt. E. Ihenacho, Mr. Chidi Marc, ‘Capt.’ P. L. Carrodano, Prof. Iyiola Oni, Dr. Edmund Chilaka, Mr. Eno Williams, Capt. Tajudeen Alao at the Event’s Red Carpet


group pix

Prof. Oni, Dr. Chilaka, Capt Ihenacho, Prof. Aworawo and Otunba Kunle Folarin at the Event’s Red Carpet

group pix

L-R: Dr. Edmund Chilaka, Prof. S. I. Oni, Prof. M. Ilori, Prof. M. M. Omirin, Prof. M. Olusakin, Capt. Ihenacho Ebubeogu, Prof. Oluwatoyin T. Ogundipe (Vice-Chancellor), Otunba Kunle Folarin, Prof. L. O. Chukwu, Dr. Yetunde Zayed, Mr. Patrick Ezedimbu and Mr. Ahmed Akinola in a group photo op after Otunba Folarin presented copies of the NNSL and BSL book to the Vice Chancellor at the Senate Chambers of the University of Lagos, Akoka Yaba Lagos recently

group pix

Capt. Bankas (2nd from left), of the Ghana Merchant Navy Officers Association, presenting a copy of the NNSL/BSL book to the Vice Chancellor of Regional Maritime University Nungua Ghana (2nd from left), flanked by other members of the Association

2 men in picture